Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga spent $310 million on acquisitions

Zynga spent $310 million on acquisitions

Tue 25 Jun 2013 6:33pm GMT / 2:33pm EDT / 11:33am PDT
Business

Zynga's spending spree didn't pay off for the company

Since 2010, Zynga has spent $310,561,000 on acquiring new companies, according to a report by Bloomberg's Cory Johnson. Over the course of these acquisitions, Zynga went from $10 million in earnings to $897 million in accumulated deficit.

Those acquisitions include OMGPOP, Bonfire Studios, Buzz Monkey, Newtoy, XPD Media, Challenge Games, Area/Code, Floodgate Entertainment, and MarketZero. Employees from some of those teams were a part of the company's layoffs earlier this month.

The social and mobile publisher is still hemorrhaging executives. On Monday, the head of Zynga China and XPD Media founder Andy Tian left the company, followed by vice president of publishing Rob Dyer this morning.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now