Sections

E3 2018: Watch the PlayStation press conference here

Sony has an embarrassment of riches to show, including The Last of Us II, Spider-Man, Dreams and Death Stranding. Watch it drop the mic at 18:00 PST / 02:00 BST

Heading into E3, PlayStation's executives may well have focused their E3 preparations on various ways of theatrically dropping the mic. The PlayStation 4 was so far ahead in terms of sales, and its exclusive games were so much better than those on the Xbox One, that 'winning' E3 may have appeared little more than a formality.

In the aftermath of the Xbox press briefing, however, in which Microsoft took confident strides towards laying the doubts about its first-party strategy to rest, Sony will need a stellar display of strength to win the day. Fortunately, it has Naughty Dog's The Last of Us II, Insomniac's Spider-Man, Kojima Productions' Death Stranding and Media Molecule's Dreams to use as a foundation, along with whichever third-party developers decide to hitch their wagons to the industry's leading console platform.

Sony may not have acquired four new studios, but this year's E3 should be a reminder that's because it really doesn't need to.

The fun starts at 18:00 PST / 21:00 EST / 02:00 BST (Tuesday) / 11:00 AEST (Tuesday).

Twitch

Related stories

E3 2018: Microsoft finally comes out of its "self-imposed damage control position"

Industry analysts on Sony's muted E3 briefing, and why it's too soon to know if Microsoft's studio acquisitions will be proved "smart or dumb"

By Matthew Handrahan

Streaming could be key to Xbox reclaiming the lead from PlayStation

Industry analysts see Microsoft as well positioned to be the leader in game streaming, in a way that Sony will struggle to emulate

By Matthew Handrahan

Latest comments

There are no comments on this article yet. Why not be the first to post one?

Sign in to contribute

Need an account? Register now.