Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rockstar "not interested" in Grand Theft Auto movie

Wed 06 Feb 2008 9:03am GMT / 4:03am EST / 1:03am PST

Rockstar has denied reports it almost gave the go-ahead to a Grand Theft Auto film last year, saying the company is "not interested" in bringing the series to the big screen.

According to Variety, a deal to develop a GTA movie was "virtually in place with one of the six major studios" last spring. "Eminem was quite possibly going to star," according to the report. The deal supposedly fell through at the last minute after Take-Two failed to agree terms with the studio.

Now Rockstar president Dan Houser has responded to the report, stating the company never considered being involved with any such project.

"Some movie producers were trying to put something together to entice us to make a movie, as studios and production teams frequently have done in the past," he told MTV.

"This proposal was no more interesting than the numerous others we receive. We never entertained proceeding with the project."

Houser further clarified, "Rockstar was not involved in this project in any way, shape or form." When asked if there are any plans to produce a GTA film in the future he replied, "It is not something we are currently interested in."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now