Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox 360 Minecraft sells 4 million

Xbox 360 Minecraft sells 4 million

Mon 01 Oct 2012 6:27pm GMT / 2:27pm EDT / 11:27am PDT

4J Studios confirms milestone for console port of open-ended world builder

Since it launched in May, Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition has sat comfortably atop Microsoft's Xbox Live sales charts. That continued success adds up, as developer 4J Studios confirmed on Twitter this weekend that its console adaptation of Mojang's blockbuster hit has tallied more than 4 million sales.

The game hit its first million sold within five days of appearing on Xbox Live Arcade, and became the service's best-selling title of all time with 2 million sold in under a month. Despite that success, the Xbox 360 Edition of Minecraft still has a ways to go to catch up to its PC progenitor. In August, Mojang said the original edition of the game had surpassed sales of 7 million.

Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition sells for 1,600 Microsoft points ($20). The console edition of the game was developed by 4J Studios, which has made a name for itself bringing other games to Microsoft's download service. Previously, the studio handled the Xbox Live Arcade ports for Banjo-Kazooie, Banjo-Tooie, and Perfect Dark.

1 Comment

Paul Gheran Scrum Master

123 27 0.2
Hm. Looks like he can say whatever the f he wants about Windows 8 after all. Haters to the left.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now