Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga acquires web browser team from Flock

Thu 06 Jan 2011 8:48am GMT / 3:48am EST / 12:48am PST
BusinessOnline

Social games giant makes eighth acquisition in as many months

Social games giant Zynga has acquired the team behind web browser Flock, which claims to have over 10 million users.

Flock allows users to access their social networks while browsing other websites. Writing on the firm's official blog, CEO Shawn Hardin noted that Zynga had hired the team and offered no information on the future direction of the browser itself.

"Our team will help Zynga in achieving their goal of building the most fun, social games available to anyone, anytime," said Hardin.

A report by TechCrunch suggests that both Google and Twitter were interested in acquiring Flock for the "highly-regarded" talent, but the company and browser have not performed to expectations after raising nearly $30 million.

Zynga has made eight acquisitions in as many months, including Newtoy, Conduit Labs in the US, Unoh Games in Tokyo, Frankfurt's Dextrose and XPD based in Beijing.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now