Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Writers Guild of America doles out game nominations

Assassin's Creed: Syndicate, Pillars of Eternity, Rise of the Tomb Raider, and The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt draw honors

The Writers Guild of America today released its nominees for its annual Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing award, honoring dozens of writers who worked on four of the biggest games of 2015. The nominees are as follows:

Assassin's Creed Syndicate

  • Story by Marc-Alexis Cote, Hugo Giard, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem
  • Narrative Director - Corey May
  • Lead Writer - Jeffrey Yohalem
  • Assistant Narrative Director - Melissa MacCoubrey
  • Scriptwriters - Russell Lees, Mark Llabres Hill, James Nadiger, Jared Schincariol, Travis Stout, Ceri Young
  • Additional Writing - Judith Flanders, C.J. Kershner, Gabrielle Shrager, Danny Wallace
  • Additional Senior Writer - Paul Monk
  • Ubisoft

Pillars of Eternity

  • Lead Writer - Eric Fenstermaker
  • Writers - Carrie Patel, Olivia Veras
  • Additional Writing - Chris Avellone, Jeff Husges, Matt MacLean, Jorge Salgado, Josh Sawyer, George Ziets
  • Obsidian Entertainment

Rise of the Tomb Raider

  • Lead Narrative Designer - John Stafford
  • Narrative Designer - Cameron Suey
  • Lead Writer - Rhianna Pratchett
  • Additional Writer - Philip Gelatt
  • Microsoft

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

  • Lead Writer - Marcin Blacha
  • Lead English Writer - Borys Pugacz-Muraszkiewicz
  • Writers - Arkadiusz Borowik, Aleksandra Motyka, Bartosz Ochman, Karolina Stachyra, Jakub Szamalek
  • Additional Writers - Marcin Batylda, Michal Galek, Tomasz Marchewka, Robert Oglodzinski, Rafal Praszalek, Artur Sliwinski, Stanislaw Swiecicki, Pawel Zych
  • Story - Marcin Blacha, Jakub Szamalek
  • CD Projekt

The winners will be named during the 2016 Writers Guild Awards. The event will take place at a pair of simultaneous ceremonies on February 13 in Los Angeles and New York City.

The Writers Guild of America showed decidedly different tastes than its counterpart across the Atlantic. Last month, the Writers' Guild of Great Britain released its own shortlist for best writing in a video game, and the selections had a decidedly indie bent to them, with Everybody's Gone to the Rapture, Her Story, and Sunless Sea earning nominations. That award will be presented January 18 at a ceremony in London.

Related topics
Brendan Sinclair avatar

Brendan Sinclair

Managing Editor

Brendan joined in 2012. Based in Toronto, Ontario, he was previously senior news editor at GameSpot in the US.