Skip to main content

Spyro Reignited Trilogy only has one game on the disc

Activision warns that second and third instalments will need to be downloaded after purchase

Physical editions of the next retro remaster from Activision will only include a third of the package, it has emerged.

VG247 reports that the promotional materials and box art for Spyro Reignited Trilogy have revealed the disc contains the enhanced Spyro The Dragon, but sequels Ripto's Rage and Year of the Dragon will require a download.

The updated box promises three games - twice, in fact - and warns that it requires a content download, but the official website clarifies "Games 2 and 3 require download via internet."

These will be available via a day one patch, with an Activision statement to PlayStation Lifestyle deeming the need for an update after purchase as "quite common", adding: "The language on packaging and on the web is to let players know the requirements for Spyro Reignited Trilogy."

While it's true that almost all modern games require extra content to be downloaded before they can be played, it's rare that this encompasses entire titles - particularly two thirds of a trilogy. It's not clear as to how big this download will be, but it's unlikely to be small.

It's also odd given that Activision managed to fit all three remastered Crash Bandicoot titles onto the disc for last year's best-selling N Sane Trilogy - a title that, thanks to its Xbox and Switch release, continues to top the charts.

We'll only find out whether this affects customers, or even sales, after the Spyro trilogy arrives on September 21st.

Read this next

James Batchelor avatar
James Batchelor: James is Editor-in-Chief at, and has been a B2B journalist since 2006. He is author of The Best Non-Violent Video Games
Related topics