Skip to main content

Rift and Minecraft big winners at GDC Online Awards

Trion Worlds and Mojang receive two awards each, EverQuest inducted into Hall Of Fame

Trion Worlds' Rift and Mojang's Minecraft won two awards each at GDC Online in Austin, Texas.

At the second annual Game Developers Choice Online Awards, Rift won Best Online Technology and was named Best New Online Game. Minecraft won Best Community Relations and Best Live Game.

Sony Online Entertainment's EverQuest, which has been running continuously for 12 years, was inducted into the Hall Of Fame.

"We're so happy to be back again honoring the world's best online games," said event organiser Simon Carless.

"Once again, this year's award winners represent a massive range of genres and studios, from social network titles through core MMOs, and we'd like to congratulate all the nominees and winners on their sterling work."

The full list of winners is listed below.

  • Best Online Visual Arts: DC Universe Online (Sony Online Entertainment)
  • Best Social Network Game: Gardens of Time (Playdom)
  • Best Online Game Design: Spiral Knights (Three Rings Design/Sega)
  • Online Innovation: Shadow Cities (Grey Area)
  • Best Online Technology: Rift (Trion Worlds)
  • Best Community Relations: Minecraft (Mojang)
  • Best Audio for an Online Game: Clone Wars Adventures (Sony Online Entertainment)
  • Best New Game Online: Rift (Trion Worlds)
  • Best Live Game: Minecraft (Mojang)
  • Audience Award: Wizard101 (KingsIsle Entertainment)
  • Online Game Legend: John Taylor and Kelton Flinn (creators of Island of Kesmai)
  • Hall Of Fame: EverQuest (Sony Online Entertainment)

Read this next

Matthew Handrahan avatar
Matthew Handrahan: Matthew Handrahan joined GamesIndustry in 2011, bringing long-form feature-writing experience to the team as well as a deep understanding of the video game development business. He previously spent more than five years at award-winning magazine gamesTM.
Related topics