If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

E3 2018: Watch the Nintendo Direct here

What does Nintendo have in store for the Switch's second year? Find out here at 09:00 PST / 17:00 BST

Having been the belle of the ball in 2017 with the Switch launch -- and accompanying slew of solid first-party releases -- Nintendo hasn't been able to make quite the same impact this year.

Until yesterday's uninspired conference from Sony, it looked as though Nintendo would have by far the least on display of the three platform holders.

While Microsoft showed promise with the announcement it acquired four new studios, it's exclusive line-up is looking increasingly tired whereas Nintendo's original properties still feel fresh and exciting. On top of that, it would only take one surprise announcement to drum up the kind of excitement Sony's offering so desperately lacked.

But Nintendo will, as ever, insist on doing its own thing. How that pans out exactly remains to be seen, but with the promise of Pokémon, Bayonetta, and Super Smash Bros. it's looking like a crowd pleaser.

The conference kicks off at 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST / 02:00 AEST (Wednesday)

Watch live video from Nintendo on www.twitch.tv

Tagged With

Author

Ivy Taylor avatar

Ivy Taylor

Contributor

Ivy joined GamesIndustry.biz in 2017 having previously worked as a regional journalist, and a political campaigns manager before that. They are also one of the UK's foremost Sonic the Hedgehog apologists.

More News

Latest Articles