Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Virtual goods now earn more than ads on iPhone

Fri 15 Oct 2010 9:59am GMT / 5:59am EDT / 2:59am PDT
MobileOnline

Flurry report finds microtransactions responsible for 80% of App revenue

Around 80 per cent of revenue from iPhone Apps stems from in-game goods, according to a report by analytics outfit Flurry>.

For the month of September, Flurry found that the average monthly revenue per user in its surveyed Apps was $9 from virtual goods sales, and just over $1 from advertising.

While advertising revenues were roughly the same in September 2009, the estimated average monthly revenue per user from virtual goods has grown from around $1.70 in the space of a year.

Flurry's figures were based on data from a range of 'leading' iOS applications, which it claims sport a combined reach of 2.2 million daily active users.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now