Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Worldwide Wii U launch details expected tomorrow

Nintendo touts new hardware events in North America, Europe, and Japan; date and price among announcements planned

Nintendo appears set to answer some of the biggest remaining questions about the Wii U launch, specifically "When?" and "How much?" Nintendo of America, Nintendo of Europe, and Nintendo of Japan have all announced Wii U events for tomorrow.

Nintendo of Japan will kick things off with an afternoon event (4 p.m. in Tokyo, 3 a.m. in New York City) in which the company will, according to its Twitter feed, reveal the Wii U's Japanese pricing and launch date. Meanwhile, Nintendo of America and Nintendo of Europe are promoting simultaneous press events several hours later (3 p.m. in London, 10 a.m. in New York City). In advertising its event, Nintendo of America stopped short of promising a launch date or price, but did say there would be "new announcements about Wii U."

The most recent launch update Nintendo has given for the Wii U is that it will be out this year. As for the price, Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime suggested in June that the system won't require gamers to break the bank.

"Nintendo believes in being a mass market product," Fils-Aime said at the time, "so unlike our competitors when they've launched historical systems to maybe start at a really high price and work their way down, we don't believe in that. We want to launch at a price that's going to represent an ongoing great value."

Read this next

Brendan Sinclair avatar
Brendan Sinclair: Brendan joined GamesIndustry.biz in 2012. Based in Toronto, Ontario, he was previously senior news editor at GameSpot.
Related topics