Skip to main content

The SFWA announces 2023 game finalists for Nebula Award

Elden Ring, Stray, and Horizon Forbidden West named among this year's nominees for fantasy writing

Sign up for the GI Daily here to get the biggest news straight to your inbox

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced this year's game nominees for the Nebula Award.

Founded in 1965, the organization began recognizing game writing in 2018 when it added the category.

Past winners for the award included Obsidian Entertainment's The Outer Worlds in 2020.

The 2023 nominees for the Nebula Award for Game Writing are listed below.

Nebula Award for Game Writing

  • Elden Ring (FromSoftware, Bandai Namco)
  • Horizon Forbidden West (Guerilla Games, Sony Interactive Entertainment)
  • Journeys through the Radiant Citadel (Wizards of the Coast: Dungeons and Dragons)
  • Pentiment (Obsidian Entertainment, Xbox Game Studios)
  • Stray (BlueTwelve Studio, Annapurna Interactive)
  • Vampire: The Masquerade - Sins of the Sires (Choice of Games, Paradox Interactive)

The science fiction and fantasy writing awards will be honored at the Nebula Conference, which will run from Friday, May 12, to Sunday, May 14, at the Anaheim Resort in Anaheim, California.

Read this next

Jeffrey Rousseau avatar
Jeffrey Rousseau: Jeffrey joined in March 2021. Based in Florida, his work focused on the intersectionality of games and media. He enjoys reading, podcasts, staying informed, and learning how people are tackling issues.
Related topics