If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Last Of Us and Assassin's Creed nominated for WGA award

AAA titles fight it out for Writers Guild of America honours

The Writers Guild of America has revealed its nominations for its Outstanding Achievement In Video Game Writing award, focusing firmly on AAA franchises.

The nominees are:

  • Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, Story by Darby McDevitt, Mustapha Mahrach, Jean Guesdon; Lead Scriptwriter Darby McDevitt; Scriptwriter Jill Murray; AI Scriptwriter Nicholas Grimwood; Scriptwriter Singapore Mark Llabres Hill; Ubisoft
  • Batman: Arkham Origins, Narrative Director Dooma Wendschuh; Writer & Senior Narrative Designer Ryan Galletta; Writer Corey May; Warner Bros. Interactive
  • God of War: Ascension, Written by Marianne Krawczyk; Additional Writing Ariel Lawrence; Sony Computer Entertainment
  • The Last of Us, Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment
  • Lost Planet 3, Head Writer Richard Gaubert; Writers Orion Walker, Matt Sophos; Capcom

The award is open to members of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus and must have been released December 1, 2012 and November 30, 2013. It'll be judged by a WGA panel and the results will be announced February 1 at a special ceremony.

Last year's winner was Assassin's Creed III: Liberation, with scriptwriting by Richard Farrese and Jill Murray.

Related topics
Rachel Weber avatar

Rachel Weber

Senior Editor

Rachel Weber has been with GamesIndustry since 2011 and specialises in news-writing and investigative journalism. She has more than five years of consumer experience, having previously worked for Future Publishing in the UK.