Skip to main content

2009 D.I.C.E. Summit

Valve founder Gabe Newell to address participants at this month's do in Las Vegas.

CALABASAS, Calif. – January 30, 2009 – The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences® (AIAS) today announced that Gabe Newell, co-founder and president of Valve, creators of award winning games (Half-Life, Counter-Strike, and more) and PC gaming technologies (Source, Steam) will give a keynote address at the 2009 D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Summit®. The event will be held at the Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas, February 17-20, 2009 and feature a line-up of industry leaders, visionaries and decision makers that are shaping the future of interactive entertainment.

“Gabe Newell and Valve have become a force for innovation in gaming over the past a decade, creating some of the best-selling games of all time and a ground-breaking platform for PC entertainment,” said Joseph Olin, president of the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. “His perspective and vision of the games industry are a welcome addition to this year’s D.I.C.E. Summit, and will greatly contribute to the high-profile line-up.”

The D.I.C.E. Summit 2009 will also play host to the 12th annual Interactive Achievement Awards ® ceremony on February 19, where industry leaders and members pay tribute and recognize the individuals and products that contribute to the growth of the interactive entertainment software business. Comedian, actor and proud game enthusiast, Jay Mohr will return for his fourth year to host the award festivities. Announced speakers include:

• Dan Bilson, THQ.

• Chris Cao, Sony Online Entertainment

• N'Gai Croal, Newsweek

• Michael Denny, Sony Corp. EU

• Anita Frazier, NPD Research

• Julianne Greer, The Escapist

• Lars Gustavsson, D.I.C.E. Studios/EA

• Michael Haigh, SCE Worldwide Studios

• Mona Hamilton, Capcom

• Rich Hilleman, Electronic Arts

• Todd Howard, Bethesda Studios

• Geoff Keighley, Spike TV

• Alex Laurent, LucasArts/ILM

• Ralph Osterhout, Serial Inventor

• David Perry, Acclaim Entertainment

• Ted Price, Insomniac Games

• J. Paul Raines, Gamestop

• John Riccitiello, Electronic Arts

• Seth Schiesel, New York Times

• Bruce Shelley, Ensemble Studios

• Mike Snider, USA Today

• Jun Takeuchi, Capcom

• Chris Taylor, Gas Powered Games

For more information and registration:

About The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences® (AIAS) was founded in 1996 as a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement and recognition of the interactive arts. The Academy's mission is to promote and advance common interests in the worldwide interactive entertainment community; recognize outstanding achievements in the interactive arts and sciences; and conduct an annual awards show (Interactive Achievement Awards®) to enhance awareness of the interactive art form. The Academy also strives to provide a voice for individuals in the interactive entertainment community. In 2002 the Academy created the D.I.C.E. Summit® (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain), a once yearly conference dedicated to exploring approaches to the creative process and artistic expression as they uniquely apply to the development of interactive entertainment. The Academy has more than 12,000 members, with the board comprised of senior executives from the major videogame companies including Bioware/Pandemic, Electronic Arts, Microsoft, Nintendo, Sony and Ubisoft. More information on AIAS and the D.I.C.E. Summit can be found at: and



Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences Geri Gordon Miller

818-876-0826 x202

Sean Kauppinen

International Digital Entertainment Agency


Read this next avatar GamesIndustry International is the world's leading games industry website, incorporating and