Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Saint's Row 2 trailer is "pompous", says analyst

Wed 11 Jun 2008 8:17am GMT / 4:17am EDT / 1:17am PDT
Games

Janco Partners' Mike Hickey questions the game's "attacks" on hugely successful GTA IV

Mike Hickey, analyst at Janco Partners, has criticised a trailer for THQ's forthcoming action sequel Saint's Row 2 as "pompous" for satirising the content in rival game Grand Theft Auto IV.

"The trailer directly attacks Grand Theft Auto IV in game content, an unusually pompous position in our view, considering GTA IV is estimated to be the highest grossing first week entertainment release of all time - and is currently the highest quality scored game on both the Xbox 360 and PS3 according to Metacritic.com," he said in a note, according to Gamasutra.

He added that reaction in the build-up to the game's release so far hadn't been encouraging: "We remain conservative on our sales expectations for Saint's Row 2, in light of mediocre game previews and a delayed release in-part from quality concerns."

The original Saint's Row was relatively successful for THQ, partly down to being the first open-ended real-world action title published on the next-generation consoles.

However, the sequel will undoubtedly have to suffer comparisons with Rockstar's behemoth when it's released at the later-than-expected date of October this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now