Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PSP outsells combined competition in Japan

Thu 03 Apr 2008 9:06pm GMT / 5:06pm EDT / 2:06pm PDT
Retail

In Japan, the PSP sold 139,000 units for the week ending March 30 - more than all other consoles and handhelds combined

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

In a week that saw Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G sell 880,000 units in Japan, Sony sold more PSP handhelds than all of the competition combined.

According to sales statistics from Famitsu, 139,000 PSP units were sold during the week of March 24 - 30. That's almost two and half times the next highest-selling system - the Nintendo DS - which sold 57,000 units during the same period.

At the same time, Japanese consumers purchased 49,000 Wii consoles, 13,000 PS3 consoles, and 2,800 Xbox 360 consoles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now