Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BioShock movie loses yet another director

BioShock movie loses yet another director

Sat 24 Mar 2012 12:24am GMT / 8:24pm EDT / 5:24pm PDT
Games

An agreement on budget hasn't been reached and the movie's on hold

BioShock's attempts to hit the silver screen have stalled out yet again. Director Juan Carlos Fresnadillo has left the project, putting an indefinite hold on production. Fresnadillo follows Gore Verbinski as the second director to leave.

"To be honest, by now, I'm completely out of that, and developing other stuff," Fresnadillo said to IndieWire. "Right now it's on hold. The studio and the videogame company, they have to reach some kind of agreement about the budget and the rating."

This is perhaps not totally bad news for Irrational, as studio head Ken Levine mentioned to us back in November that he simply had no need to get the movie done. While a movie could certainly be a good move to elevate the brand in the mainstream, along the lines of Tomb Raider or Resident Evil, Levine rationalized that there simply was no "burning desire to have a movie made just to get it made."

2 Comments

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
Yay because the Tomb Raider and Resident Evil movies where so great, on the other hand Resident Evil games are getting closer and closer to the movies.

I was thinking they killed the movie off a while ago when they couldn`t get the high rating.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Tommy Thompson
Lecturer in BSc (Hons) Computer Games Programming.

44 26 0.6
Ken Levine certainly has the right outlook on this. Frankly if you're going to make a film adaptation of a game, do it right or don't do it all.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now