Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

OnLive to launch tablet client this year

Wed 08 Jun 2011 7:27am GMT / 3:27am EDT / 12:27am PDT
HardwareE3 2011

Game streaming service and controller due for iPad and Android in Autumn

Cloud gaming firm OnLive is to bring its streaming service to tablet devices before the end of 2011.

OnLive has been demonstrating an iPad version of its software for some time, and now plans to release the OnLive Player App this Autumn, for both the US and Europe.

Both iPad and Android tablets will be supported, with games operated via touch controls or a new Universal Wireless Controller. If the tablet supports it, games can also be outputted to an HDTV or monitor.

OnLive have floated the possibility of the tablet and the connected TV displaying different interactive content simultaneously, thus theoretically aping some of the capabilities of the new Wii U.

"The power of the cloud is definitely the theme this week, displacing what had been assumed to be platforms that could never be displaced," said Steve Perlman, CEO of OnLive.

"The OnLive Player App for iPad and Android shows how with the power of the cloud, the question is not whether cloud gaming will be able to catch up to consoles, it will be whether consoles will be able to catch up to cloud gaming."

On iPad, OnLive will also enable Flash support of a sort, via a cloud-based browser.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now