Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Supercell raises $12 million in funding

Wed 25 May 2011 3:24pm GMT / 11:24am EDT / 8:24am PDT
Development

Accel Partners leads significant investment in Finnish developer

Finnish development studio Supercell has announced that it has secured $12 million in funding from investor Accel Partners.

Several other investors were part of the funding round, including London Venture Partners, who had invested in the company previously, and Klaas Kersting, founder of Gameforge.

Supercell is currently running an open beta for its first game, Gunshine, a browser-based game which the developer hopes will combine social aspects with a free-to-play MMO model.

"We are proud to have Accel and Mr.Kersting as investors," said Supercell CEO Ilkka Paananen.

"Given Accel's extensive experience and track record in gaming, internet and social media, their investment is a powerful endorsement of Supercell's vision of combining the power of social networks with deep and immersive core games that are instantly accessible from anywhere, anytime."

In March this year, Paananen spoke to GamesIndustry.biz in an interview which discusses his company's business model and future plans.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now