Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Tomb Raider: Underworld

Launches in Europe today.

Friday 21st November/...Eidos Interactive Ltd., creator of some of the world’s leading videogame properties, announces that Tomb Raider: Underworld™ has been released across Europe today. Available on Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, Games for Windows®, PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system, Wii™ and Nintendo DS™.

Tomb Raider: Underworld™ is an epic adventure that delivers advanced exploration-based gameplay that gives players a new level of challenge and choice as they solve mysteries from exotic locations around the world.

Tomb Raider: Underworld™ brings to life a realistic world that fully complements Lara Croft’s bold personality,” said Sean Vesce, General Manager of Crystal Dynamics. “We continue to innovate on the brand that defined the action-adventure genre and we are excited to introduce fans and gamers to an immersive, believable world that they can explore and conquer.”

Tomb Raider: Underworld™ seamlessly blends exploration, grand scale puzzle solving and combat, taking players on an archeological journey to the ancient netherworlds of the Mediterranean, Thailand, Mexico, the Arctic Sea and more. As fearless adventurer Lara Croft, gamers uncover proof of the existence of the Norse underworld and the mythical Hammer of Thor, and embark on a perilous journey towards a forgotten power that, if unleashed, could lay waste to all of civilization. Lara’s latest adventure introduces scores of new capabilities and state-of-the-art gear, including an active sonar map, multi-purpose grapple and an all-terrain motorbike. With fresh moves that are more intuitive and realistic than ever before, players must master these in order to navigate through treacherous environments and defeat a range of hostile enemies.

Beginning this Christmas, fans can extend their Tomb Raider experience with two new downloadable chapters that will be available exclusively on Xbox LIVE® Marketplace for Xbox 360. The first new chapter, Tomb Raider: Underworld™ – Beneath the Ashes, will be available in December and takes place after the Underworld story has finished and features a new environment to explore and additional secrets to unlock. The second chapter, Tomb Raider: Underworld™ – Lara’s Shadow, will follow in early 2009 and introduce a new playable character to the Tomb Raider experience.

Tomb Raider: Underworld™ is developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Eidos Interactive Limited. For more information, visit the official site at

About Eidos

Eidos Interactive Ltd, creators of some of the world's leading videogame properties, consists of several development studios including Crystal Dynamics, IO Interactive, Beautiful Game Studios and Eidos Montreal, plus sales and distribution offices in Europe and the US. The Group has a valuable portfolio of intellectual property including: Tomb Raider, Hitman, Deus Ex, Championship Manager and Just Cause. Eidos Interactive Ltd is part of SCi Entertainment Group Plc (SEG).

Tomb Raider: Underworld © Eidos Interactive Limited 2008. Tomb Raider, Tomb Raider: Underworld, Lara Croft, the Tomb Raider logo, Eidos and the Eidos logo are trademarks of Eidos Interactive Limited. Published by Eidos Interactive Limited. Wii and Nintendo DS are trademarks of Nintendo.

GamesIndustry International avatar

GamesIndustry International


GamesIndustry International is the world's leading games industry website, incorporating and