Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Rhiannon: Curse of the Four Branches

Italian version currently undergoing final testing.

Wales-based PC-adventure developer Arberth Studios has announced that the localisation into Italian of its haunting mystery game ‘Rhiannon – Curse of the Four Branches’ is complete. The translation is the work of Italian gaming site Puntaeclicca (“Point and Click”).

Arberth’s Noel Bruton comments, “We’re very excited about this project. The Italian team, capably headed by Francesca Livia, has been for us the ideal mix of structured translation service and gamer involvement. With Puntaeclicca, the adventure developer requiring an Italian version gets the best of both worlds – the professionalism of a formal localisation company and the enthusiasm of the genuine gamer. Puntaeclicca is ideally placed to see localisation both from a business and a player’s point of view.”

The end product, ‘Rhiannon – La Maledizione dei Quattro Rami’ is currently undergoing final testing in Italy, before being offered to Italian players.

The finished product will be offered for download from Arberth’s Website and the developer will be approaching Italian publishers imminently about the possible launch of a boxed version. A final release date and retail price are yet to be fully determined.

Information for Editors:

About ‘Rhiannon’

‘Rhiannon – Curse of the Four Branches’ is a point-and-click first person adventure game for the PC. It is available in English, French, German, Russian and soon, Italian. ‘Rhiannon’ has been named as

‘Adventure Game of the Year’ separately by gaming websites Planete-Aventure in France and Amerzone et Cie in Canada. It was also awarded the coveted ‘5-star rosette’ recognition by German site AdventureSpiele. The game’s involved story takes its inspiration from the ancient ‘Four Branches’ legends, as related in the Welsh literary classic ‘The Mabinogion’. The player must use deductive and magical capabilities against the ancient horror haunting a contemporary Welsh farmstead.

About Arberth Studios

Arberth Studios is a developer of point-and-click adventure games for the PC. Based in Wales, the three-person family team released its first game ‘Rhiannon: Curse of the Four Branches’ in Europe, the USA and Canada in Autumn 2008. Localisations into Russian, German and French followed in 2009 and a launch in Italian is due in 2010. Arberth has also announced that production has begun on its second title ‘Coven: the Witching of Castle Avon’, a story encompassing witchcraft in the sixteenth century and the present day.

Read this next

GamesIndustry International avatar
GamesIndustry International: GamesIndustry International is the world's leading games industry website, incorporating and