Skip to main content

LittleBigPlanet wins big at GDC Awards

Plus Fallout 3 bags Game of the Year, while Kojima picks up Lifetime Achievement Award

Media Molecule's LittleBigPlanet swept the Game Developers Choice Awards, claiming four victories - the do-it-yourself title won Best Debut Game, Best Technology, Best Game Design as well as the Innovation Award.

Bethesda's Fallout 3 was another star title, claiming the Game of the Year award and Best Writing. Meanwhile, Prince of Persia was awarded Best Visual Arts and God Of War: Chains Of Olympus, for the PlayStation Portable, took Best Handheld Game.

Best Audio went to Dead Space and Best Downloadable Game was awarded to World of Goo, reports Gamasutra.

Hideo Kojima, was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Rock Band founders, Alex Rigopulos and Eran Egozy, picked up the Pioneer award and Tommy Tallarico, co-founder of Video Games Live, won the Ambassador Award.

"Over the past nine years, the Game Developers Conference has become the premiere videogame award show because it gives voice to those who understand games better than anyone; the people who make them," said Meggan Scavio, content director for GDC.

"The games being recognised here are virtuoso efforts that have truly advanced the state of videogames. Our congratulations to all the talented and hardworking teams that put so much of themselves into their art."

The results of the Game Developers Choice Awards follows:

Game of the Year:

Fallout 3 (Bethesda Softworks)

Best Game Design:

LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)

Best Writing:

Fallout 3 (Bethesda Softworks)

Best Technology:

LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)

Best Visual Arts:

Prince of Persia (Ubisoft Montreal)

Best Debut Game:

LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)

Best Handheld Game:

God Of War: Chains Of Olympus (Ready at Dawn)

Innovation Award:

LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)

Best Audio:

Dead Space (EA Redwood Shores)

Best Downloadable Game:

World Of Goo (2D Boy)

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Hideo Kojima

Pioneer Award:

Alex Rigopulos and Eran Egozy

Ambassador Award:

Tommy Tallarico

Read this next