If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

IGF's Main Competition finalists announced

80 Days, The Talos Principle and This War Of Mine score multiple nominations

The Independent Games Festival (IGF) juries have spoken, revealing their finalists for the Main Competition prizes later this year.

The panels were particularly impressed by three titles, 80 Days, The Talos Principle and This War Of Mine, which all scored nominations across more than one category.

Excellence In Visual Art

  • Donut County (Ben Esposito)
  • Lumino City (State of Play Games)
  • Else Heart.Break() (Niklas Akerblad, Erik Svedang, et al.)
  • Memory of a Broken Dimension (XRA)
  • Metamorphabet (Patrick Smith)
  • Oquonie (XXIIVV and Kokorobot)

Excellence In Narrative

  • 80 Days (Inkle Studios)
  • Coming Out Simulator 2014 (Nicky Case)
  • Ice-Bound: A Novel of Reconfiguration (Down to the Wire)
  • Pry (Tender Claws)
  • This War of Mine (11 Bit Studios)
  • Three Fourths Home ([Bracket]Games)

Excellence In Design

  • 80 Days (Inkle Studios)
  • Framed (Loveshack)
  • Invisible Inc. (Klei Entertainment)
  • Killer Queen (Joshua DeBonis & Nikita Mikros)
  • Outer Wilds (Team Outer Wilds)
  • The Talos Principle (Croteam)

Excellence In Audio

  • Ephemerid: A Musical Adventure (SuperChop Games)
  • Phonopath (Kevin Regamey)
  • Shovel Knight (Yacht Club Games)
  • The Sailor's Dream (Simogo Games)
  • The Vanishing of Ethan Carter (The Astronauts)
  • Thumper (Drool)

Nuovo Award

  • Become A Great Artist In Just 10 Seconds (Michael Brough and Andi McClure)
  • Bounden (Game Oven)
  • Desert Golfing (Captain Games)
  • Elegy For A Dead World (Dejobaan Games & Popcannibal)
  • How Do You Do It? (Nina Freeman, Emmett Butler, Jonathan Kittaka and Deckman Coss)
  • Plug & Play (Mario von Rickenbach and Michael Frei / Etter Studio)
  • Rooftop Cop (Stephen Lawrence Clark)
  • Tetrageddon Games (Nathalie Lawhead)

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

  • 80 Days (Inkle Studios)
  • Invisible Inc. (Klei Entertainment)
  • Outer Wilds (Team Outer Wilds)
  • The Talos Principle (Croteam)
  • Metamorphabet (Patrick Smith)
  • This War of Mine (11 Bit Studios)

The full list, including the honorable mentions for each category, can be found here. The IGF Awards will take place on March 4 at San Francisco's Moscone Convention Center.

Related topics
Rachel Weber avatar

Rachel Weber

Senior Editor

Rachel Weber has been with GamesIndustry since 2011 and specialises in news-writing and investigative journalism. She has more than five years of consumer experience, having previously worked for Future Publishing in the UK.