Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

European Innovative Games Award 2008

Deadline for entries extended to August 31st; European developers and publishers invited to send in their games.

Wiesbaden/Germany, July 31, 2008 - Developers, publishers, publishing houses, freelancers and young professionals from all EU member states now have a month more to enter their games for the European Innovative Games Award (EIGA), the award for innovative computer and video games from Europe.

Responding to numerous requests, the initiator of the competition, Hessen-IT - the action line of the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development - has extended the deadline until the 31st of August 2008. Anyone who until now has not had the time to participate in EIGA due to summer holidays or the upcoming Games Convention can still, within the next four weeks, prove his or her creative potential.

The winners stand to gain a lot: During a gala event on the 6th of November in the new Darmstadt 'darmstadtium' Congress Centre, the organisers of the competition, Hessen-IT and the European Commission, will award prizes to a total of 35,000 euros.

Particularly positive is the fact that participating in EIGA 2008 is free of charge. Anyone wanting to participate must only ensure that the game entered is no older than a year. In addition, the products must be capable of running on a normal, commercially-available and up-to-date PC. Furthermore, browser games, games for mobile or stationary consoles and handhelds and PDAs are allowed.

A top-class jury made up of representatives from industry and politics will assess the degree of innovation of the games entered according to the criteria of technology, content, implementation and usefulness. The panel of experts comprises Dr. Alois Rhiel, Hessian Minister for Economics, Transport and Urban and Regional Development, Maruja Gutiérrez Díaz, European Commission, Patrice Chazerand, ISFE Interactive Software Federation of Europe, Olaf Wolters, Federal Association of Interactive Entertainment Software, André Horn, IDG Entertainment Media GmbH, and Malte Behrmann, European Games Developer Federation (EGDF).

Additional information and EIGA 2008 participation documents are available at or can be requested from:

Christian Flory

Hessen-IT c/o HA Hessen Agentur GmbH

Abraham-Lincoln-Strasse 38 - 42

65189 Wiesbaden


Tel.: +49 (0)611-774-8423

Fax: +49 (0)611-774-8620


Hessen-IT - the action line of the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development supporting the Hessian information and communication technology (ICT) sector Gabriele Gottschalk Kaiser-Friedrich-Ring 75, 65185 Wiesbaden, Germany

Tel: +49 (0)611-815-2315, Mail:

GamesIndustry International avatar

GamesIndustry International


GamesIndustry International is the world's leading games industry website, incorporating and