Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony: Uncharted 2 cinema experience could be "start of something"

Wed 30 Sep 2009 8:07am GMT / 4:07am EDT / 1:07am PDT
Publishing

Publisher invites consumers to play upcoming action title in cinemas

Sony is hoping that an upcoming promotion it will be running for Uncharted 2, where US gamers get the chance to play the title on a cinema screen, could lead to new future revenue streams for both videogame makers and cinema operators.

The company is to make Uncharted 2 available for consumers to play in one of four US cinemas on October 5 and 6, reports Reuters. These cinemas are ones equipped with Sony 4K digital cinema technology, which is currently used by around 500 cinemas nationwide, and which Sony says provides a higher image resolution than traditional projectors.

"This is the first time we're doing it in a theatre. We think it's a start of something for us, and hope we can build this into a standard element in the movie-going experience," said Mike Fidler, senior VP of Sony's digital cinema solutions and services group.

"Our goal in converting theatres to digital is to go beyond the traditional movie-going experience and focus on helping exhibitors find ways to fill seats.

"Gaming will be an important part of that equation."

The promotion's first night will be a private invitation-only event, while the second day will be open to the general public. Participating cinemas are located in San Francisco, California, Illinois and Washington.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now