Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PS3 slim sells 1 million in 3 weeks

Thu 24 Sep 2009 2:59am GMT / 10:59pm EDT / 7:59pm PDT
RetailHardwarePublishing

Global sales jump following introduction of new model

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

In the three weeks since launching the new slim model PlayStation 3, Sony has sold over one million units.

That's according to numbers from Sony Japan, following the introduction of a new model and a lower asking price in all major regions.

"The new PS3 has been doing very well, and one of the reasons for this is the price," said SCE president Kaz Hirai at the Tokyo Game Show today. "As a system in the living room, we have managed to realise this price without making any changes to what is good about it."

The 120GB model now retails for USD 299 in the US, EUR 299 across Europe, GBP 249 in the UK and 29,980 in Japan.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now