Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Paddy Power takes odds on GTA IV staying power

Tue 29 Apr 2008 12:24pm GMT / 8:24am EDT / 5:24am PDT
Games

Online bookmakers offers novelty bets on Rockstar's latest release

Paddy Power is taking bets on Grand Theft Auto IV's staying power, offering odds of 9/2 the game will sit at the top of the UK charts for ten weeks.

The bookie is offering odds of 6/4 that Wii Fit, released last week, will knock GTA IV off the number one spot, with Mario Kart for the Wii the next favourite to nudge Rockstar's latest from the top of the charts.

It's not the first time that Paddy Power has attempted to piggyback gaming as a result of increased media interest.

Last year the company offered odds on how low Sony would cut the price of the PlayStation 3 in Europe – a stunt that backfired when SCEE kept the price at GBP 425, leaving all bets null and void.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now