Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

NPD: Nintendo DS leads US hardware sales

Thu 11 Sep 2008 11:08pm GMT / 7:08pm EDT / 4:08pm PDT
RetailHardware

Wii consoles also sold well in August, although annual growth was just 3%

The latest results from NPD have revealed that sales of videogames hardware in the US grew by just 3 per cent in August year-on-year, from USD 384.6 million to USD 394.5 million.

That list was headed, once again, by the Nintendo DS, which sold 518,300 units, followed by Nintendo's other console, the Wii, on 453,000 units.

The PlayStation Portable was third on 253,000 units, while the Xbox 360 just beat the PlayStation 3 into fourth - the pair sold 195,200 and 185,400 respectively.

The PlayStation 2 was last with 144,100, although retailers in the US have apparently reported rocketing Xbox 360 sales since the new price points came into force last week.

Meanwhile, sales of videogame accessories were up 13 per cent, from USD 121.1 million to USD 137.3 million.

The hardware sales list is as follows:

  • 1. Nintendo DS: 518,300
  • 2. Nintendo Wii: 453,000
  • 3. PlayStation Portable: 253,000
  • 4. Xbox 360: 195,200
  • 5. PlayStation 3: 185,400
  • 6. PlayStation 2: 144,100

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now