Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Grand Theft Auto IV cut for Australian release

Fri 04 Apr 2008 7:36am GMT / 3:36am EDT / 12:36am PDT

Latest title from Rockstar is censored in order to receive an MA15+ rating

Rockstar Games has confirmed that Grand Theft Auto IV has been cut in order to be granted a release in Australia.

According to The Sydney Morning Herald, the developer has produced an edited version of the game in order to get a MA15+ rating in the region, with the Office of Film and Literature Classification warning consumers the game contains "strong violence, strong coarse language, drug and sexual references."

MA15+ is the highest rating in Australia, as unlike the UK and Europe, there is no rating for consumers of 18-years or older.

This week the BBFC confirmed the game has been cleared for release in the UK with an 18 rating.

The Grand Theft Auto series has suffered cuts in the region before - GTA III, GTA: Vice City and GTA: San Andreas have all been edited to some degree in order to be released in Australia.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now