Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Game file-sharer hit with 16,000 fine

Tue 19 Aug 2008 2:06pm GMT / 10:06am EDT / 7:06am PDT
Online

"This is the first of many," says legal firm

A woman who uploaded a game to a file-sharing network has been fined over GBP 16,000 by a court in the UK.

Isabella Barwinska has been ordered to pay Topware Interactive GBP 6086.56 in damages and GBP 10,000 in costs for uploading a copy of Dream Pinball 3D.

"This shows that taking direct steps against infringers is an important and effective weapon in the battle against online piracy," commented David Gore, a partner for Davenport Lyons, who acted for Topware.

"This is the first of many. It was always intended that there would be a lot more."

Three other suspected file-sharers are awaiting damages hearings, reports the BBC.

Topware Interactive began action in 2007 after obtaining details of those it suspected of illegally sharing its IP.

The company initially requested GBP 300 as a settlement figure, and Ms. Barwinska decided to fight the case in the court.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now