Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ELSPA: Publishers should continue rating games as normal

Tue 25 Aug 2009 11:55am GMT / 7:55am EDT / 4:55am PDT
PoliticsBusiness

Publisher body surprised at legal loophole, will assist government

ELSPA has said that publishers should continue to follow the normal ratings process for videogames, despite earlier revelations that the VRA isn't legally enforceable.

The publisher body said it was "surprised" at the news, and it will work with the government to help close the loophole.

"The discovery that the Video Recordings Act is not enforceable is obviously very surprising," said Michael Rawlinson, director general of ELSPA. "In the interest of child safety it is essential that this loophole is closed as soon as possible.

"In this respect the videogames industry will do all it can to support and assist the government to that effect. ELSPA will therefore advise our members to continue to forward games to be rated as per the current agreement while the legal issues are being resolved."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now