Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Edge editor quits

Mon 21 May 2007 1:07pm GMT / 9:07am EDT / 6:07am PDT

Margaret Robertson, editor of Future Publishing's Edge magazine, has quit her position, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

Margaret Robertson, editor of Future Publishing's Edge magazine, has resigned from her role, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

Despite leaving her position on the acclaimed publication, Robertson is convinced the magazine still has a future in a market where the majority of specialist magazines continue to post declining sales figures.

"I've spent four years at Edge, and over the course of those 50 issues have done every job on the mag - from writer up to editor. It's been a fantastic few years, but it's time to try something new," Robertson told GI.biz.

"As gaming grows, Edge grows with it, and I expect the magazine to continue driving the debate and proving the value of informed, intelligent, open-minded game journalism."

Future Publishing has confirmed that editor-in-chief Tony Mott will act as editor of Edge until further notice.

"Margaret's done a great job and we're sad to see her step down from the editor role," said publisher James Binns.

"She's been on Edge through seven ABC copy sales rises in a row and leaves a strong team behind. We wish her well in whatever she wants to do."

Edge is a key gaming title for Future, and one of the few to maintain a healthy circulation as sales of other magazines have declined - ABC results released in February revealed an increase in readership of more than 4 per cent from 33,597 to 35,145.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now