Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

DayZ hits 2 million sales

DayZ hits 2 million sales

Fri 02 May 2014 6:29am GMT / 2:29am EDT / 11:29pm PDT
RetailPublishingDevelopment

Early access version hits yet another sales milestone

Bohemia Interactive

Established in 1999 in Prague, Czech Republic, Bohemia Interactive is an independent game development...

bistudio.com

DayZ's early access release has now sold more than 2 million copies.

Dean Hall, the lone developer who created the Arma II mod on which the game is based, announced the milestone on Twitter.

DayZ sold 1 million copies in its first month on sale, and has added another million in the three months since then. That's a remarkably good return for a game that, on paper, isn't even finished yet.

But Bohemia Interactive has responded to that popularity in kind, by body textdoubling the size of its development team. Dean Hall remains the lead on the project, though he has announced his decision to body textleave at the end of the year to start a new studio in New Zealand.

4 Comments

William Usher Assistant Editor, Cinema Blend

45 44 1.0
This really is amazing news. I'm glad indies are showing the AAA studios that building games that gamers want to play will bring the crowd... and the money.

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Jonathan McEnroe Freelance 2D artist

47 20 0.4
"Indies, don't make multiplayer games" - Dan Marshall

Posted:6 months ago

#2

Jamie Read Junior 3D Artist, Neon Play Ltd

131 75 0.6
People are still loving themselves some zombie games.

Posted:6 months ago

#3

Joseph Harvey Department head, Firelight Technologies

13 2 0.2
Body text?

Posted:6 months ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now