Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity acquires Playnomics - report

By James Brightman

Unity acquires Playnomics - report

Wed 16 Apr 2014 2:36pm GMT / 10:36am EDT / 7:36am PDT

The middleware firm has purchased the predictive analytics company for an undisclosed sum

Unity Technologies has purchased (price undisclosed) predictive analytics firm Playnomics in an effort to become a one-stop shop for tools and game services, according to VentureBeat. The deal has already closed and it quickly follows Unity's March acquisition of Applifier, a Helsinki-based maker of the Everyplay platform for sharing videos of mobile gameplay.

It's clear that Unity's aspirations for the games business go far beyond just being a middleware provider. Playnomics' technology enables the company to predict how players will behave, including which people are more likely to spend money or who might stop playing a game.

Playnomics is already used in a number of games with millions of monthly active players, and the firm processes billions of in-game events a month. Neither Playnomics nor Unity have commented on the deal.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now