Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Cut the Rope dev takes aim at King trademark

Cut the Rope dev takes aim at King trademark

Tue 25 Mar 2014 8:44pm GMT / 4:44pm EDT / 1:44pm PDT
Legal

ZeptoLab challenges Candy Crush Saga maker's claim to "candy" in European Union

With King's IPO expected to finally take place tomorrow, the Candy Crush Saga maker is facing a fresh round of criticism over its trademark practices. Cut the Rope developer ZeptoLab UK today announced that it "has begun the process of cancelling King.com's registration of 'candy' in the European Union," submitting an official challenge to King's community trademark on the term.

King filed its application for the trademark over the word "candy" as it relates to games and clothing in February of 2013. It was published in March, and went the three-month opposition period without any challenges to that claim being made.

"Candy is an integral part of the Cut the Rope franchise," said ZeptoLab CEO Misha Lyalin. "And we do not support King.com trademarking and preventing others from using it."

ZeptoLab noted that King abandoned its application for the "candy" trademark in the US, but its EU filing remains in place. At the time, King explained that it felt the acquisition of the Candy Crusher IP was its best option for protecting its interests in the US, and that such a move had no bearing on the EU trademark.

2 Comments

Steven Hodgson
Programmer

84 122 1.5
ZeptoLab need to be careful, King will just buy the rights to a game that precedes them

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Alex Bunch
Proof Reader

94 106 1.1
Facebook will buy them both.

Posted:6 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now