Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Line's gaming platform hits 100 million downloads

Line's gaming platform hits 100 million downloads

Thu 14 Mar 2013 9:54am GMT / 5:54am EDT / 2:54am PDT
MobilePublishing

Japanese mobile messaging app proves hugely popular for games

The Japanese mobile firm Line has reached 100 million game downloads through its mobile messaging app.

The primary focus of Line's business is mobile messaging, but the decision to attach a gaming platform to its app has proved to be inspired. Since the app's launch in July 2012, it has amassed a registered user-base of more than 100 million, giving Line an average of 1 download per person.

Line currently has 16 games on its game platform, including popular first-party releases like Line Pop and Line Bubble, which have been downloaded more than 30 million times.

The company's biggest market is its native Japan, which is responsible for 45 million downloads. However, Line is also very popular in East Asian markets, with downloads in both Thailand and Taiwan exceeding 10 million.

Thanks NextWeb.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now