Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga Japan shuts its doors

Zynga Japan shuts its doors

Sat 22 Dec 2012 3:28am GMT / 10:28pm EST / 7:28pm PST
Business

Zynga shuts down its Japanese operations

In the beginning of November, Zynga founder Mark Pincus said that the company's Japanese office might be on the chopping block. Today, Zynga Japan chief executive officer Kenji Matsubara confirmed the closure via Facebook. The post was translated by Japan tech consultant Serkan Toto.

Matsubara's message stated that the company would cease operations at the end of January, with a trip to Zynga Japan's homepage listing the exact closure date as January 31, 2013. The company began in July 2010 with a $150 million investment from Japanese tech giant Softbank.

Zynga Japan has already shut down three of its primary titles: social RPG Montopia, Words With Friends transplant Mojitomo, and city-builder Machitsuku. The last title remaining is card-battle game Ayakashi, which Matsubara ensured is continuing on after the company's demise.

1 Comment

Peter Dwyer Games Designer/Developer

482 293 0.6
*CLICK*

The sound of the last one out turning off the lights. Hopefully the devs and designers get new work quickly. Japan is not a place to be unemployed.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now