Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Metal Gear series reaches 31 million worldwide

Metal Gear series reaches 31 million worldwide

Fri 16 Mar 2012 9:23pm GMT / 5:23pm EDT / 2:23pm PDT
Retail

Konami's tentpole franchise is still moving copies off shelves

Konami has announced that the Metal Gear series has sold 31 million copies worldwide as of December 31, 2011. The original Metal Gear was released in 1987 for the Japanese MSX2 hardware.

The announcement comes a day before series creator Hideo Kojima is to speak at the Art of Video Games Exhibition at the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, D.C.

[Translated via MetalGearSolid.NL]

1 Comment

Private Industry

1,176 182 0.2
Good to see they still sell well its my favourite series altough I wonder if this data includes all MGS games because that would be 14 or 15 so that would be an average of 2 million per game.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now