Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

$3.5M for Child's Play charity in 2011

Thu 05 Jan 2012 9:20am GMT / 4:20am EST / 1:20am PST
Charity

New record for US organisation thanks to community activism

Child's Play, the US charity dedicated to supplying games and toys to children in hospitals, raised a record $3,512,345 last year.

"2011 brought some incredible milestones," said project manager Jamie Dillion.

"Including breaking the $10 million mark in lifetime contributions, founding our Annual Child's Play Golf Tournament, rolling out a full website overhaul and seeing the community activism explode via hundreds of events put on by the community."

The charity had set a goal of $2.2 million for the year, which it reached by December 21.

In 2010 it raised $2,294,317 and in 2009 $1,780,870.

Child's Play was set up in 2003 by Penny Arcade creators Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins. As well as helping sick children around the world, it also aims to challenge the negative perceptions of games and gamers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now