Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Report: LucasArts president and executives resign

Fri 07 May 2010 10:30am GMT / 6:30am EDT / 3:30am PDT
Publishing

Unconfirmed reports suggest Darrel Rodriguez and other top execs have quit company

Darrel Rodriguez has resigned from his position as president of LucasArts, with a number of other top executives leaving at the same time, according to online reports.

Although the company has made no official announcement, blog site Kotaku claims that staff were made aware of the departures at a meeting yesterday.

At the meeting it was claimed that the company's development teams and other business plans would be unaffected by the resignations.

Previous LucasArts president Jim Ward also resigned from his post suddenly and for largely unexplained reasons. It is unclear why Rodriguez left or the exact identities of the other departing executives.

In a recent interview with GamesIndustry.biz Rodriguez reaffirmed a commitment to creating new intellectual properties and focusing on the company's reputation for strong story-telling.

Currently though the publisher's slate remains dominated by Star Wars titles (including The Force Unleashed II - recently confirmed for an October release) and the forthcoming special edition of The Secret of Monkey Island 2.

It is claimed that remaining executive Jerry Bowerman will take over Rodriguez's role in the interim.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now