Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 to get smaller graphics chips

Fri 27 Jun 2008 8:48am GMT / 4:48am EDT / 1:48am PDT
Hardware

SCE CEO, Kaz Hirai, reveals the hardware upgrade will be coming to the console this "fall"

Sony Computer Entertainment's CEO, Kaz Hirai, has confirmed that the PlayStation 3's cell processors will use smaller chips.

Speaking at the PlayStation Business Review in Tokyo, Hirai said the smaller RSX graphics chips would come this "fall".

"The Cell and RSX used in PS3s at launch were manufactured using a 90nm process technology. And now all PS3 Cells have shifted to 65nm process technology since last holiday season," he explained.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now