Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Just Cause dev Avalanche to lay off more staff

By Matt Martin

Tue 19 May 2009 10:06am GMT / 6:06am EDT / 3:06am PDT
Development

Developer serves notice to 20 employees, but reveals third project in production alongside Just Cause 2 and The Hunter

Just Cause developer Avalanche Studios has served three months notice to around 20 employees, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

The development of Just Cause 2 for Eidos and The Hunter for Emote games will not be affected, with CEO Christofer Sundberg confirming that a third project is in development at the studio.

"It is a difficult business climate, but this is not nearly on the scale of the redundancies last year," said Sunberg, referring to the laying off of staff last October.

Although the third project is currently under wraps, Sundberg did confirm that it is in development with a publishing partner. Eidos has also clarified that Just Cause 2 is unaffected by any changes at Avalanche and will be on show at E3 next month.

"As any other company we need to manage risks and sometimes that unfortunately means that we have to give notice and lay off staff. It's not more complicated than that," added Sundberg.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now