Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Game sales to overtake music at HMV

Tue 09 Sep 2008 12:27pm GMT / 8:27am EDT / 5:27am PDT
Retail

Retailer continues to secure more space for videogames as music sales decline

HMV's chief executive Simon Fox has said that within the next 18 months sales of games could overtake music for the entertainment retailer.

Fox was talking to The Sun following an increase in sales for the past three months of 4.1 per cent. Videogame product now accounts for around 19 per cent of the retailers total sales.

"Within the next 12 to 18 months, it's possible games will be bigger than music for us," commented Fox.

"Music is in our DNA and we are totally committed to it. But the fact is, the market is moving away from music - so we are giving more space in our stores to games."

Fox is confident a number of brands will help the retailer perform well in the coming Christmas period, with Activision Blizzard, EA and Nintendo products all expected to be big sellers.

"Looking forward to Christmas, Wii Fit will continue to do well, FIFA 09 will be huge, as will Gears of War, Guitar Hero and Rock Band. There's a good line-up of releases," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now