Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Fighting Fantasy gamebooks to come to handhelds

Tue 05 Dec 2006 10:46am GMT / 5:46am EST / 2:46am PST

Games Workshop co-founders Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone are to bring the 15 million-selling Fighting Fantasy series to DS and PSP

Games Workshop co-founders Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone are planning to launch a new series of games based on the Fighting Fantasy gamebooks for DS and PSP, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

Originally published in the 1980s and recently re-launched by Icon Books, the Fighting Fantasy series has gone on to sell over 15 million books in 26 different languages.

"We're convinced that innovative handheld versions will challenge and entertain a whole new generation of gamers — as well as existing fans — and will form the basis of a new portable gaming franchise," said Steve Jackson.

Ian Livingstone, co-creator of the series, added: "Fighting Fantasy built up a huge, worldwide fan base over the years. We believe that players will really enjoy the adventures in a new way on DS and PSP."

Development consultant Bad Management is on board to help the veteran games designers bring the series to handhelds.

"Finding the right development and publishing partners for this project will be the key to its success," said John Cook, senior partner at Bad Management.

"With such a reputation and sales history, there is bound to be a lot of interest in the brand alone. But we're looking to team the guys up with collaborators who truly understand the nature and potential of this unique, premium IP," he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now