Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

DSi outsells all other hardware combined

Mon 06 Apr 2009 2:42pm GMT / 10:42am EDT / 7:42am PDT
Retail

Weekend launch sees hardware fly off shelves; DS games spike despite no big releases

Nintendo's DSi has outsold all other UK consoles combined over its debut weekend, according data collected by Chart-Track.

Chart-Track attributed the success to strong pre-order activity, with the DSi topping the region's chart with only two days on sale, while also boosting the platform's software sales.

"I can tell you that the DSi has outsold all the other consoles for the week," commented Chart-Track's Chris Poole. "DS software is up the most last week," he added, despite "no big releases".

When asked if Nintendo could continue to see a growth in sales throughout the Easter period, Poole expressed his doubts.

"Easter is generally a good period for Nintendo," he said, adding: "There was a lot of pre-order activity on DSi, so I'm not sure how it's going to maintain its strong sales in the following weeks. We'll just have to wait and see how well it's promoted."

Last week, retailer's such as HMV, Chips, Play.com and ShopTo, reported to GamesIndustry.biz that they had experienced "phenomenal" levels of pre-orders.

GAME also explained that pre-orders for the DSi had eclipsed those of the DS Lite during the same pre-release period.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now