Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Dawn of War II tops US PC chart

Tue 03 Mar 2009 10:09am GMT / 5:09am EST / 2:09am PST
Retail

THQ strategy title goes straight in at number one, pushing Lich King down to second

The latest installment in THQ's flagship real-time strategy franchise, Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II, has entered the US PC chart at number one, according to NPD data for the sales week ending February 21.

It displaced previous long time number one - World of Warcraft expansion Wrath of the Lich King - which moved down to second place, ahead of Sims 2 titles Double Deluxe and Deluxe in third and fourth respectively.

Spore took fifth place, ahead of the Battle Chest and original World of Warcraft products, while FEAR 2 fell to eighth position.

The Apartment Life expansion for The Sims 2 and Crysis: Warhead completed the top ten with EA taking half of the entrants. Activision Blizzard was responsible for three, while THQ and Warner Interactive held one position apiece.

The full top ten is as follows:

  • 1. Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
  • 2. World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King
  • 3. The Sims 2 Double Deluxe
  • 4. The Sims 2 Deluxe
  • 5. Spore
  • 6. World of Warcraft: Battle Chest
  • 7. World of Warcraft
  • 8. FEAR 2: Project Origin
  • 9. The Sims 2 Apartment Life
  • 10. Crysis: Warhead

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now