Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Console installed base reaches 22m in UK

Tue 13 Jan 2009 8:38am GMT / 3:38am EST / 12:38am PST
Retail

PlayStation 3 reaches 1.9m consoles, Xbox 360 3.2m and Wii 4.9m units

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The latest generation of home consoles - the Wii, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 - have a total installed base of 10 million units in the UK and Ireland.

That's according to data from GfK Chart Track, revealed today in a public trading update from retailer GAME, which shows that as of January 3 2009 the addition of 12 million PSP and DS consoles brings the total of all five machines to 22 million units in the region.

The PlayStation 3 sold 1 million units in 2008, putting the installed base at 1.9 million, while Microsoft's Xbox 360 now sits in 3.2 million homes in the UK, compared to 1.8 million in January 2008.

Nintendo's Wii is still the strongest of all home consoles, with an installed base of 4.9 million units by January 3, compared to 2 million last year.

The DS and DS Lite leads the handheld market, with an installed base of 8.8 million units, up from 5.4 million at the start of 2008, while Sony's PSP has hit 3.2 million units, compared to 2.6 million in 2008

GfK Chart Track has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz the data is correct.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now