Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA abandons "ghost" trademark application

By Matthew Handrahan

EA abandons "ghost" trademark application

Tue 01 Mar 2016 7:57am GMT / 2:57am EST / 11:57pm PST

Ubisoft's objected due to the existence of its Ghost Recon franchise

EA has finally withdrawn its attempt to trademark the word "ghost" following opposition from Ubisoft.

The initial application was made in March 2015, an attempt by EA to protect the name of Ghost Games, the Swedish developer currently working on the Need For Speed franchise. Ubisoft opposed the application last month, due to the existence of its long-running Ghost Recon franchise.

According to an official document dated February 24, 2015, EA has abandoned its application, with the consent of Ubisoft.

Speaking to PC Gamer, a representative of EA stated that the issue was resolved amicably. "Nothing will change with respect to our use of the Ghost Games studio name," he said.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now