Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Glu's next celebrity star is Taylor Swift

By Rachel Weber

Glu's next celebrity star is Taylor Swift

Wed 03 Feb 2016 11:34pm GMT / 6:34pm EST / 3:34pm PST

“Bringing with her over 227 million social followers..."

Glu Mobile

Glu Mobile (formerly Sorrent, Inc. and Macrospace Ltd.)
is a leading developer and global publisher...

Proving its dedication to its celebrity model, Glu has signed Taylor Swift as the star of a new mobile title.

"Bringing with her over 227 million social followers, I am thrilled to welcome Taylor Swift, an award-winning singer, musician and songwriter, to Glu's family," said Niccolo de Masi, Glu Chairman and CEO.

"We realize that Taylor and her global fan base expect a new and highly differentiated mobile gaming experience. Glu is equally committed to designing never before seen gameplay elements that utilize Taylor's unique creativity. Accordingly, we will spend the required development time to ensure this innovation is achieved."

Swift follows in the footsteps of Kim Kardashian, Britney Spears, Katy Perry, Gordon Ramsay, Nicki Minaj and Jason Statham.

Last October de Masi explained the draw of celebrity partners.

"One of the reasons we like the celebrity partnerships is that we get, effectively, a permanent marketing asset," he said.

"Unlike a movie IP, where there isn't really much social following, if you partner with someone who has 100 million social followers you have effectively in-built promotion."

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now