Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel


Amazon CFO to retire next year

By Rachel Weber

Amazon CFO to retire next year

Wed 03 Sep 2014 5:53pm GMT / 1:53pm EDT / 10:53am PDT

Thomas J. Szkutak to depart, Brian T. Olsavsky to replace him

Amazon strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

Amazon's chief financial officer Thomas J. Szkutak will retire in summer 2015 after 12 years with the company. He will be replaced by the current VP of finance for Amazon's global consumer business, Brian T. Olsavsky.

"It's been a privilege for me to work with so many talented people who are continually inventing on behalf of customers, and now I look forward to spending more time with my family and other outside interests," said he said.

"I've worked very closely with Brian Olsavsky over the past 12 years and have seen firsthand how talented he is, and I have confidence that he will be a great CFO for"

Amazon is best known for its retail presence but is becoming an ever more important part of the games industry, building its own in-house development studio and recently acquiring Twitch.

"Tom's impact over the past 12 years is evident in every part of our business. Under Tom's stewardship, customers have benefitted from category expansion and geographical expansion, along with amazing new businesses like AWS and Kindle," added CEO Jeff Bezos.

"The day Tom joined the company was a very lucky one for Amazon's shareowners and customers and for all of us who've had the pleasure and fun of getting to work with him. We wish Tom and his family all the best in their next round of adventures."

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now